National Fruit Fly Council members

Membership on the National Fruit Fly Council has been selected to include representatives from industry, state government, research funding bodies, and the Australian Government. The combined experience of members of the Council ensures that the group understands and considers different crop types and fruit fly management systems from across Australia’s horticulture production regions, as well as research capacity, and market access issues.

Council membership has also been selected to ensure that there is direct experience with the in-field management of both Mediterranean fruit fly and Queensland fruit fly.

The National Fruit Fly Council is convened through Plant Health Australia, the national coordinator of the government-industry partnership for plant biosecurity in Australia.


Members of the National Fruit Fly Council

To be advised

To be advised

Christina Cook

In this role, Christina supports the work of the Council, engages with members and other key stakeholders to coordinate delivery of the National Fruit Fly Strategy
Read more

Alison Anderson
Council member

General Manager, Research, Marketing and Investments, Hort Innovation

Mike Ashton
Council member

Chief Plant Health Manager, Queensland Department of Agriculture and Fisheries
Read more

Andrew Bishop
Council member

Chief Plant Health Manager, Department of Primary Industries, Parks, Water and Environment, Tasmania
Read more

Sonya Broughton
Council member

Chief Plant Health Manager, Department of Primary Industries and Regional Development, Western Australia

Steve Burdette
Council member

Independent consultant, Renmark South Australia

Sally Chesworth
Executive officer

National Fruit Fly Council, Plant Health Australia
Read more

Rosa Crnov
Council member

Chief Plant Health Officer, Agriculture Victoria
Read more

Tom Eastlake
Council member

President, Cherry Growers Australia. Cherry grower, Young, NSW

Peter Hall
Council member

Chair Goulburn Valley QFF Taskforce. Pome and stonefruit grower, Mooroopna, Victoria

Bertie Hennecke
Council member

Assistant Secretary, Plant Health Policy, Australian Government Department of Agriculture

Satendra Kumar
Council member

Director Plant Biosecurity and Product Integrity and Chief Plant Health Manager Department of Primary Industries NSW

Ross Meffin
Council member

Manager, Plant and Food Standards and Chief Plant Health Manager, Biosecurity South Australia

Dan Ryan
Council member

SITPlus Program Director
Read more

Rod Turner
Council member

General Manager, Partnerships, Plant Health Australia

Mark Wilkinson
Council member

Stonefruit grower, Maida Vale, Western Australia

Dale Williams
Council member

Fruit grower, Bowen Queensland

Joelene Williams
Council member

Greater Sunraysia PFA Industry Development Committee. Stonefruit grower, Swan Hill Victoria




Prevent Fruit Fly newsletter

Sign up to receive news and information about fruit fly and the National Fruit Fly Council

Subscribe now

You are donating to : Greennature Foundation

How much would you like to donate?
$10 $20 $30
Would you like to make regular donations? I would like to make donation(s)
How many times would you like this to recur? (including this payment) *
Name *
Last Name *
Email *
Additional Note